





ALFRED E. ALQUIST SEISMIC SAFETY COMMISSION MEETING

In-person and Teleconference Meeting Thursday, June 23, 2025

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Rabbitt called the meeting to order at approximately 9:42 a.m. A roll call was conducted to establish a quorum.

Commissioners In-Person Attendance

Representative Jose Lara for Nancy Ward, CA Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES)

Commissioners Virtual Attendance

David Rabbitt, Chair, Local Government
Debra Garnes, Vice-Chair, Local Government
Ida Clair, California (CA) Division of the State Architect
Representative Irina Brauzman for Stoyan Bumbalov, Building Standards
Commission

Joone Kim-Lopez, Public Utility Dr. H. Kit Miyamoto, Structural Engineer Cindy Silva, Local Government Vincent Wells, Fire Protection (Arrived at 9:50 a.m.)

Commissioners Absent

Kevin McGowan, Emergency Services Gail Pellerin, CA State Assembly

2. Chair Remarks

Chair Rabbitt began the meeting by thanking everyone for their patience in starting the meeting.

3. Public Comment: Items on Agenda

Chair Rabbitt invited the public to comment on agenda items. No public comments were submitted regarding the agenda items.







Chair Rabbitt stated, "Pursuant to Government Code Section 11126(a)(1), the Board will meet in closed session to discuss the Executive Director Recruitment. The main session will remain open for members of the public, and Commissioners will return after the closed session. Commissioners and Representatives, please exit the open session and join the closed session Zoom at that time."

4. CLOSED SESSION PURSUANT TO GOVERNMENT CODE § 11126(a)(1)

The Board convened in closed session and discussed the appointment of the Executive Director.

After the closed session, the SSC reopened the meeting. Chair Rabbit announced that a motion passed unanimously appointing Sara McBride as the new Executive Director.

Acting Director Lori Nezhura reminded commissioners about the remaining California Human Resources (Cal HR) processes, timeline, and swearing in of the new Executive Director.

5. Public Comment: Items not on Agenda

No public comment was received on items not listed on the agenda.

6. Adjourn

Chair Rabbitt adjourned the meeting at 10:17 a.m.