





ALFRED E. ALQUIST SEISMIC SAFETY COMMISSION MEETING

In-person and Teleconference Meeting Thursday, December 12, 2024

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Rabbitt called the meeting to order at approximately 10:14 a.m.

Tanya Black conducted a roll call for Commissioners in attendance and the quorum requirement was met.

Commissioner	In-Person	Virtual	Absent
David Rabbitt, Chair, Local Government		Χ	
Debra Garnes, Vice-Chair, Local Government		Χ	
Stoyan Bumbalov, Building Standards Commission		Χ	
Representative Diane Gould for Ida Clair, CA Division of State Architect			Х
Alegría De La Cruz, Social Services		Х	
Representative Jose Lara for Nancy Ward, CA Governor's Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES)	Х		
Joone Kim-Lopez, Public Utility			Х
Kevin McGowan, Emergency Services			Х
Dr. H. Kit Miyamoto, Structural Engineer			Х
Representative Astghik Hakobyan for Senator Portantino, CA Senate Member		Х	
Assemblymember Rodriguez, California (CA) Assembly Member			Х
Cindy Silva, Local Government			Х
Vincent Wells, Fire Protection		Χ	
Total Attendance:	1	6	6

2. Public Comment: Items on Agenda

Chair Rabbitt opened the floor for public comments on the agenda items. There were no public comments.







3. Executive Director Hiring Process

Vice Chair Garnes moved to approve the Executive Director Hiring Process, seconded by Commissioner Bumbalov. A roll call vote was conducted, and the motion passed unanimously. The following table provides details on the vote.

Commissioner	Yes	No	Abstained	Not Present
David Rabbitt, Chair	Х			
Debra Garnes, Vice-Chair	Χ			
Stoyan Bumbalov	Χ			
Representative Gould				Х
Alegría De La Cruz	Χ			
Representative Jose Lara	Χ			
Joone Kim-Lopez				X
Kevin McGowan				X
Dr. H. Kit Miyamoto				X
Representative Astghik Hakobyan	Χ			
Freddie Rodriguez				X
Cindy Silva				X
Vincent Wells	Х			
Total Votes:	7	0	0	6







4. Executive Director Duty Statement

Commissioner Bumbalov moved to approve the Executive Director Duty Statement, seconded by Commissioner De La Cruz. A roll call vote was conducted, and the motion passed unanimously.

The following table provides details on the vote.

Commissioner	Yes	No	Abstained	Not Present
David Rabbitt, Chair	Χ			
Debra Garnes, Vice-Chair	Χ			
Stoyan Bumbalov	Χ			
Representative Gould				X
Alegría De La Cruz	Χ			
Representative Jose Lara	Χ			
Joone Kim-Lopez				Х
Kevin McGowan				X
Dr. H. Kit Miyamoto				X
Representative Astghik Hakobyan	Χ			
Freddie Rodriguez				Х
Cindy Silva				X
Vincent Wells	Х			
Total Votes:	7	0	0	6

5. Public Comment: Items Not on Agenda

Chair Rabbitt opened the floor for public comments on items not on the agenda. There were no public comments.

6. Adjourn

Chair Rabbitt adjourned the meeting at approximately 10:21 a.m.







To view the full meeting recording, please visit the following link: https://youtu.be/BodEvfCFNXI