



Notification of Public Hearing, Ferndale Sequence of Earthquakes Amended – Changes to Times of Presentations

Location Changed: Rio Dell City Hall 675 Wildwood Avenue Rio Dell, CA 95562 Tuesday, May 23, 2023 Time: 4:00 p.m.

California Seismic Safety Commission

Cindy Silva, Seismic Safety Commission Chair, City Council Member, Walnut Creek, CA

Irina Brauzman, Associate Architect, Representative for California Building Standards Commission

> Senator Anthony Portantino, District 13 Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez, District 53 Ida Clair, California State Architect

Nancy Ward, Executive Director, California Governor's Office of Emergency Services

Dr. Kit Miyamoto, CEO, Miyamoto International
David Rabbitt, City Supervisor, Sonoma, CA

Joone Kim-Lopez, General Manager, Moulton Niguel Water District
Alegria De La Cruz, Director of Office of Equity, Sonoma County
Debra Garnes, Mayor, Rio Dell, CA

Vincent Wells, President of United Professional Firefighters, Contra Costa County Kevin McGowan, Director, Office of Emergency Management, Los Angeles County

Annde Ewertsen, Executive Director, Seismic Safety Commission

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85169364708?pwd=TmFMNHg0UW5NK1gvSEhldDlGTzlhdz09

Meeting ID: 851 6936 4708
Passcode: v\$2WiSfA
One tap mobile
+16694449171,85169364708#, *30666067# US
+16699006833,85169364708#, *30666067# US (San Jose)

Dial by your location +1 669 444 9171 US +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose) +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma) +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston) +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago) +1 929 436 2866 US (New York) +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC) 888 788 0099 US Toll-free 833 548 0276 US Toll-free 833 548 0282 US Toll-free 833 928 4608 US Toll-free 833 928 4609 US Toll-free 833 928 4610 US Toll-free 877 853 5247 US Toll-free Meeting ID: 851 6936 4708

Passcode: 30666067

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you are a disabled person and you need a disability-related modification or accommodation to participate in the meeting, please contact Tanya Black at (916) 224-8819. Requests must be made as early as possible and at least one full business day before the start of the hearing. An interpreter for the deaf will also be made available upon request to the staff at least five days prior to the meeting.

Statements from the Public

The public will be allowed to address the Seismic Safety Commission during the scheduled public comment section of the agenda. Questions posed to the Seismic Safety Commissioners may be answered after the meeting or during a future meeting. Dialog or extended discussion between the public and the Seismic Safety Commissioners or staff may be limited in accordance with the

Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act. The public comment portion of the meeting will be limited to three (3) minutes per speaker. Although not required, speakers are requested to identify themselves by stating their name and city of residence for the official record. All remarks shall be addressed to the Seismic Safety Commission as a body. Speakers should be brief and are to keep their comments to the subject of discussion.

Persons that cannot attend the meeting may provide public comment by doing the following:

- 1. Email the Seismic Safety Commission at lnfoSSC@CalOES.ca.gov
- 2. Send public comment to or visit the Seismic Safety Commission offices:

California Seismic Safety Commission

2945 Ramco Street, Suite 195

West Sacramento, CA 95691

Appointments must be made in advance as staff are working remotely.

In pursuant to Gov Code section § 8589.75 (a), the Seismic Safety Commission agenda is available for public inspection ten days prior to the meeting at the following locations:

- 1. California Seismic Safety Commission, 2945 Ramco Street, Suite 195, West Sacramento, CA 95691. Appointments must be made in advance as staff are working remotely.
- 2. River Lodge Conference Center, 1800 Riverwalk Drive Fortuna, CA 95540
- 3. California Seismic Safety Commission official website at http://ssc.ca.gov

Written materials must be submitted to the Seismic Safety Commission staff one week prior to the scheduled meeting/ public hearing. If this is not possible, please provide 30 copies that may be distributed at the meeting/ public hearing.

Interpreter requests must be made in writing to the Seismic Safety Commission five days prior to the meeting. Seismic Safety Commission staff members may be reached at (916) 263-5506 or lnfossc@CalOES.ca.gov

AGENDA

Time	Item	ITEM
4:00 p.m.	I. II.	Call to Order & Opening Remarks: • Cindy Silva, Chair, Seismic Safety Commission
4:05 p.m.	III.	 State and Local Elected Officials: Senator Mike McGuire, Senate District 2 Assemblymember Jim Wood, Assembly District 2 Humboldt County Supervisor Michelle Bushnell, District 2 Humboldt County Supervisor Rex Bohn, District 1 Humboldt County Supervisor Natalie Arroyo, District 4 Debra Garnes, Mayor, Rio Dell and Seismic Safety Commissioner
4:40 p.m.	IV.	Public Comment
5:05 p.m.	V.	Geologic Overview of Subduction Zone and Ferndale Earthquakes: • Cindy Pridmore, Senior Engineering Geologist, California Geological Survey
5:25 p.m.	VI.	Public Comment
5:55 p.m.	VII.	Break
6:25 p.m.	VIII.	 State Response and Recovery Overview: Lori Nezhura, Deputy Director, Planning, Preparedness & Prevention, Earthquake Early Warning, California Governor's Office of Emergency Services Dana Ellis, Acting Assistant Director for Response North, California Governor's Office of Emergency Services Robert Troy, Assistant Director, Interagency Recovery Coordination, California Governor's Office of Emergency Services
6:55 p.m.	IX.	Public Comment
7:10 p.m.	X.	Humboldt County Response and Recovery Overview: • Ryan Derby, Emergency Services Manager • Amy Nilsen, Humboldt County Recovery Manager

7:30 p.m.	XI.	Rio Dell Response and Recovery Overview: • Kyle Knopp, Rio Dell City Manager • Shane Wilson, Rio Dell Fire Chief • Greg Allen, Rio Dell Chief of Police • Randy Jensen, Rio Dell Water Superintendent • Bruce Maison, S.E., Housing Damage
8:00 p.m.	XII.	Public Comment
8:10 p.m.	XIII.	Break
8:40 p.m.	XIV.	 Lifelines Response and Recovery Overview: Angie Gibson, FAcEM, MEP, Vice President, Emergency Preparedness and Response, Pacific Gas and Electric Company Dave Schultz, Director, Network Operations, Verizon John Goddard, California State Director of Public Safety Corporate External, State Legislative & Regulatory Affairs, AT&T Tom Fitzgerald, Deputy District Director, Maintenance & Operations, Caltrans
9:00 p.m.	XV.	 Business Impacts Overview: Nick Angeloff, Rio Dell-Scotia Chamber of Commerce Scott Adair, Office of Economic Development, County of Humboldt Kristin Chambers, President & CEO, Fortuna Chamber of Commerce
9:15 p.m.	XVI.	Earthquake Insurance and Mitigation Program: • Janiele Maffei, S.E., Chief Mitigation Officer, California Earthquake Authority
9:25 p.m.	XVII.	Public Comment
9:55 p.m.	VIII.	Closing Remarks: • Cindy Silva, Chair, Seismic Safety Commission
10:00 p.m.	XIV.	Meeting Adjourned